Hill and Leachman honored by ABCA

MT. PLEASANT, Mich. – The American Baseball Coaches’ Association has released the 2009 All-South Region Team.  Panthers Sam Hill and Drew Leachman were honored by the ABCA.

#Sam Hill# was named to the First Team at catcher, and #Drew Leachman# was named to the Third Team in the outfield.

The complete teams are below.

2009 ABCA All-South Region Team

Player-of-the-Year:                 Mike Celenza              Salisbury University
Pitcher-of-the-Year:                Eric Willey                   Salisbury University
Coach-of-the-Year:                 Kevin Anderson          Shenandoah University

1st Team

C         Sam Hill                      So.       Birmingham-Southern College
DH       Kyle Wooden              So.       Guilford College
1B        Mike Celenza              Jr.        Salisbury University
SS       Trae Bailey                  Sr.       Christopher Newport University
SS       Brian Inghram             So.       Methodist College
OF       Andrew Miller              So.       Salisbury University
OF       Hunter Owen              Sr.       Millsaps College
OF       Mason Mosby             Sr.       Rhodes College
OF       Ryan Poff                   Sr.       York College
UT       Greg Van Sickler        So.      
Shenandoah University
P          Eric Willey                   Sr.       Salisbury University
P          Connor Thompson      Jr.        Lynchburg College
P          Brett Horowitz             Sr.       Virginia Wesleyan College
P          Kyle Judson                So.       Salisbury University
P          Daniel Sarisky            So.       Oglethorpe University 

2nd Team

C         Ryan Smith                 Jr.        Salisbury University
C         C.J. Rhodes                Sr.       Virginia Wesleyan College
DH       Cory Nelson                Fr.        Shenandoah University
1B        Will Hawkins               So.       Millsaps College
2B        Brian Halpin                Jr.        Methodist College
3B        Matt Brown                 Jr.        Hampton-Sydney University
3B        Zollie Woodlief           Sr.       North Carolina Wesleyan College
OF       Terrence McKelvey    Sr.       Washington & Lee University
OF       David Hissey               Sr.       Emory University
OF       Mike Lenox                 Sr.       Bridgewater University
OF       Chris Harpine              So.       Eastern Mennonite University
UT       Ben Hudson                Sr.       LaGrange College
UT       Wade Keenan             Sr.       Stevenson University
P          Aaron Williams           So.       Millsaps College
P          Zeb Heidt                    Jr.        Emory University
P          Andy Holt                    Sr.       Rhodes College
P          Brad Vest                    Sr.       Huntingdon College
P          Boomer Hudson          So.       Millsaps College

3rd  Team

C         Scott Lambert              Sr.       Shenandoah Univerity
C         Dustin Proctor             Sr.       Methodist College
1B        Ben Peters                  Sr.       Maryville College
1B        Steve Brolvar              Sr.       Emory University
2B        Phillip Cadle                Sr.       Virginia Wesleyan College
3B        Shawn Lovette            So.       Methodist College
3B        Drew Ward                  Jr.        Guilford College
SS       Jesse Henry                Jr.        Shenandoah University
OF       Luke Williford              Sr.       North Carolina Wesleyan College
OF       Brad Davis                  Sr.       Methodist College
OF       Drew Leachman        So.      Birmingham-Southern College
OF       Kevin Brashears         So.       Shenandoah University
OF       Kyle Eller                     Jr.        Huntingdon College
P          Spencer Shelton         Jr.        Piedmont College
P          Andrew Cox                Sr.       Mary Washington University
P          Ben Moore                  Sr.       North Carolina Weleyan College
P          Alex Phetteplace         So.       Greensboro College