Maxwell named Freshman of the Year as Panthers clean up in SCAC awards

SUWANEE, Ga. – First baseman #Bruce Maxwell# has been named 2010 SCAC Freshman of the Year, leading a strong contingent of seven post-season awards for the BSC baseball team.

Maxwell, a first-year first baseman from Toney, Ala., hit .431 in his inaugural season with the Panthers (seventh in the SCAC) with a league-high 15 home runs – the fourth-most in a SCAC single season. In addition, he is currently in the top 10 in the league in slugging percentage (.882 – second), on-base percentage (.500 – tied for seventh), hits (62 – third), runs scored (47 – fifth), runs batted in (61 – tied for first) and doubles (18 – tied for first). Maxwell is the second Birmingham-Southern College player to win the league’s Freshman-of-the-Year award. Sam Hill won the award in the school’s first year in the SCAC in 2008.

Joining Maxwell on the All-Conference team are second baseman #Brandon Ricco#, outfielders #Drew Leachman# and #J.D. Hulse#, as well as pitcher #John Naramore#. This marks the second year in a row for Ricco, Leachman, and Hulse, who were named to the All-SCAC teams last season as well.

Joining his players in the honors, Coach Jan Weisberg has been named Co-Coach of the Year along with Tim Scanell of Trinity University. Weisberg has led the Panthers to a 33-4 mark (14-1 in the SCAC East) this season and the program is currently ranked sixth in the nation in both the ABCA and polls.

In his third season on the Hilltop, Weisberg has posted an 81-35 record (through Sunday’s games) in leading the BSC baseball program through the transition to Division III. With two games remaining on its regular season schedule, the team’s 33 victories is already tied for the 19th-most in a SCAC single season, and the Panthers have finished atop the SCAC East each of the last two seasons (tied with DePauw in 2009).

The Panthers also had six players receive an Honorable Mention from the conference. #Jordan Burchett#, #Bryan Higginbotham#
, #Sam Hill#, #Clay Malcolm#, #Michael McCalib#, and #Josh Whitaker# all made the list of Honorable Mentions this year.

The SCAC All-Conference team and other post-season awards are voted on by the conference head coaches and selected from the players they themselves nominate. For the conference’s full release click here.