Ten Panthers garner All-SCAC Football postseason honors

Ten Panthers garner All-SCAC Football postseason honors

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—The Birmingham-Southern football team landed 10 of its players on the All-Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference teams, the league office announced today.

In exclusive voting by the head coaches of the conference, BSC had three players on the All-SCAC First Team, two on the Second Team, and five Honorable Mention.

Seniors Ryan Creel, Walter Arrington, and Jeremy Jones were voted to the First Team, junior Dustin Massey and sophomore Andrew Shannon made the Second Team, and seniors Sam Bratt, Darius Dalton, John Michael Falligant, Jonathan Jones, and Justin Ray were named Honorable Mention All-Conference.

Creel, a 6-2 guard from Dora, Ala., was part of an offensive line that helped BSC lead the conference in scoring and rushing offense this past season, as well as fourth-down conversions.

Arrington, a 5-6 tailback from McCalla, Ala., led the conference in rushing yardage and racked up 100+ yards rushing in eight of BSC's 10 games this year. He totaled 11 touchdowns as well as 1,542 all-purpose yards. Arrington ends his career as the rushing leader (2,566 yards) in the BSC record book, and tied for first in rushing touchdowns with 27.

Jeremy Jones, a 6-0 defensive end from Loganville, Ga., ranked second in the conference with his five sacks and 11.5 tackles-for-loss. He totaled 42 total tackles (28 solo) as well as two fumble recoveries, one of which he returned to the end zone for a touchdown against Faulkner early in the season.

Massey, a 5-10 linebacker from Geraldine, Ala., ranked 16th in the SCAC this season with 65 tackles (44 solo). He had 3.5 tackles-for-loss, two interceptions, and two pass breakups.

Shannon, a sophomore defensive back from Trussville, Ala., tied for first in the conference with five interceptions (including three in a single game against Rhodes, and two returned for touchdowns). He also tied for 13th in the SCAC with 68 tackles (41 solo), ranked third with eight passes defended, and was sixth with two forced fumbles.

Arrington received two votes for Offensive Player of the Year, while BSC Head Coach Eddie Garfinkle received one vote for Coach of the Year. The Panthers, in their fourth year after the program was reinstated back in 2007 after a nearly-60-year hiatus, went 6-4 this past season and will be eligible for post-season play beginning in 2011.

To view the full list of honorees, click here to be taken to SCACsports.com.