Shawn Morris named SCAC Offensive Player of the Year

Shawn Morris
Shawn Morris

SUWANEE, Ga.—Junior tailback Shawn Morris was voted SCAC Offensive Player of the Year, and 14 Panthers earned All-Conference honors, as determined by exclusive voting of the league's head coaches, the conference office announced today.

Morris, a 5-8, 192-pound junior from Pensacola, Fla., had one of the most prolific seasons by a SCAC running back in league history. In just nine games, he finished with 1,449 yards rushing – the third most in the 50-year history of the conference – and 17 touchdowns in leading the Panthers to a 7-2 record, the most wins for the program since reinstating football in 2007. A two-time selection to the Team-of-the-Week, he also had a team-high 17 receptions for 131 yards. Morris had a record-setting game in Birmingham-Southern's season-finale against Millsaps, rushing for a program- and league-record 332 yards in the 35-21 win. The performance marks just the third 300+ yard rushing game by a SCAC back in league history and shatters the former single-game mark of 305 posted by Jeremy Boyce of Trinity in a 2001 contest against Sewanee.

Morris received five votes in the Offensive POTY voting while senior left tackle Ben Hume of Centre College received the remaining two votes.

Morris also earned First-Team All-Conference honors, along with senior offensive linemen Darius Dalton and John Michael Falligant and junior Drew Reece, senior defensive linemen Bryan Jackson and Sam Bratt, and junior defensive back Andrew Shannon. Senior linebacker Dustin Massey and junior quarterback Jimmy Stainback were both named to the Second Team. Named to the Honorable Mention All-Conference squad were junior wide receiver Aaron Sherrill, junior defensive end Jake Robertson, junior defensive tackle Robert Nelson, sophomore running back Joseph Moultrie, and sophomore linebacker Cameron Budzius.

For a complete list of winners, view the full release here.