Neese Headlines 17 Panther All-SAA Honors

Neese Headlines 17 Panther All-SAA Honors

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – After a season with already multiple program records shattered, Birmingham-Southern football set another by earning the most Southern Athletic Association All-Conference honors in program history.  Headlined by Gentry Neese (Franklin, Tenn./Franklin HS), who was named SAA Newcomer of the Year, BSC placed 15 Panthers on All-SAA teams.

Ranked nationally in receptions per game, Neese also led the league in total receptions and receptions per game.  He finished with the second most single-season receptions in program history.

Sy Butler (Childersburg, Ala./Childersburg HS) was the lone Panther on first-team. This is the senior captain's second all-conference nod.  He is ranked nationally in total tackles and solo tackles, leading the league in the latter.  Butler concluded his career as the program's all-time tackle leader, crushing the previous record by 20.5 tackles.

Three Panthers earned second-team honors.  Austin Lewter (Tanner, Ala./Tanner HS) picked up his second consecutive all-conference nod.  Myles Myers (Alpharetta, Ga./Johns Creek HS) and Ryder Andrews (Homewood, Ala./Homewood HS) represented on the defensive side of the ball.  Myers ranks nationally in sacks and tackles for a loss, where he leads the conference. Andrews is top 25 in the country for punting.  He's also top five in the league for total punts and yards.  His 39.4 yards per punt was the second best in the league.

BSC had 12 pickup All-SAA Honorable Mention.  From the offense, there was Neese, Andrews, Trevor Oakes (Somerville, Ala./Hartselle HS), Zack Seay (DeFuniak Springs, Fla./Freeport HS), Buddy Dowd (Dothan, Ala./Northview HS), Ford Hirsch (Cumming, Ga./Lambert HS), and Mike Benning (Chattanooga, Tenn./Baylor School).  And from the Panthers defense, Mitchell Milovich (Snellville, Ga./Greater Atlanta Christian School), Reggie Norwood (Atlanta, Ga./Riverwood International Charter School), Garrett Stevens (Social Circle, Ga./Eastside HS), Matthew Byers (Pelham, Ala./John Carroll Catholic HS), and Dylan Main (Navarre, Fla./Navarre HS) were recognized.


2018 SAA Football All-Conference

Newcomer of the Year
Gentry Neese, WR

Sy Butler, LB

Austin Lewter, OL
Myles Myers, LB
Ryder Andrews, P

Honorable Mention
Trevor Oakes, QB
Zack Seay, RB
Buddy Dowd, WR
Gentry Neese, WR
Ford Hirsch, TE
Mike Benning, TE
Ryder Andrews, K
Mitchell Milovich, DL
Reggie Norwood, DL
Garrett Stevens, LB
Matthew Byers, CB
Dylan Main, S



"JOIN THE B-FUND TODAY" – Support BSC Athletics today by joining the B-Fund. Gifts to the B-Fund help support all of our 22 sports teams, coaches, and 450+ student-athletes. Used as the common funding source for championship rings, championship banners, facility upgrades, new transportation, and more, the B-Fund allows the department to enhance the athletic experience of every student-athlete at Birmingham-Southern.

Click HERE to join the B-Fund today