BSC names Teams, Athletes of the Year at annual Athletic Awards Banquet

L to R: Athletics Director Joe Dean, Jr., Tiarra Goode, Bruce Maxwell, Shawn Morris, SWA Ann Dielen
L to R: Athletics Director Joe Dean, Jr., Tiarra Goode, Bruce Maxwell, Shawn Morris, SWA Ann Dielen

Photo Gallery

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—Birmingham-Southern College held its annual Athletic Awards Banquet Tuesday evening in Bruno Great Hall on the BSC campus.

The Larry Striplin Female Athlete of the Year is track and field All-American Tiarra Goode, who won the 60-meter indoor hurdles national title in March and won three SCAC outdoor championships on April 28 with record-breaking times in each event. Football's Shawn Morris and baseball's Bruce Maxwell were named the Larry Striplin Male Athletes of the Year.

BSC's Athlete of the Year awards were named in honor of late benefactor Larry D. Striplin, who passed away this past January at the age of 82. He was a 1952 graduate of Birmingham-Southern and is a member of the BSC Sports Hall of Fame. Striplin served for many years on the Birmingham-Southern Board of Trustees and was Chairman of the Athletic Affairs Committee of the Board. The BSC baseball field, Striplin Field, is named in his honor, as well as the Larry D. Striplin, Jr. Physical Fitness and Recreation Center on the BSC campus.

Morris, who was named First-Team All-America, Second-Team Associated Press Little All-America, and SCAC Offensive Player-of-the-Year, rushed for 1,449 yards and 17 touchdowns in nine games this past season. His season rushing total was the third most in the 50-year history of the SCAC. Morris also led the Panthers with 17 receptions for 131 yards. In the season's final game at home against Millsaps, he rushed for a BSC and SCAC-record 332 yards in a 35-21 win.

Maxwell was recently voted SCAC Offensive Player-of-the-Year and helped lead BSC to the SCAC title in its first year of eligibility. He ranks second in the nation with a .486 batting average, and leads the nation in doubles (24), home runs (14), slugging percentage (.964), total bases (133), on-base percentage (.623), and walks (50).

Softball's Bethany Fronk and soccer's Bailey Kimbell were named Female Newcomers of the Year, and baseball's Blake Stevens, track and field's Andrew Archer, and lacrosse's Erik Klein were named Male Newcomers of the Year.

Jennifer Commander (women's golf), Bryan Jackson (football), and Garner Shivers (men's soccer) were honored as the Johnny Johnson Most Inspirational Seniors. The Johnny Johnson Award is named for the late Vice President for Business and Finance at Birmingham-Southern College, who died suddenly from a heart ailment in 2001. Johnson was an avid supporter of BSC athletics.

The 2011-12 Panther Men's Basketball, Baseball, Softball, and Men's Lacrosse teams were also named Teams of the Year. Men's Basketball earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament, making BSC's first NCAA post-season appearance in the Division III era. The Baseball, Softball, and Men's Lacrosse teams all won the 2012 SCAC Championship and will play in their respective NCAA Championships, beginning tomorrow night as Men's Lacrosse faces No. 5 Stevenson in Stevenson, Md., at 7 p.m. ET.