Gonzalez, Head, and Shivers voted Men's Soccer All-Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—Cory Gonzalez, Sean Head, and Garner Shivers were named All-Conference, as voted by the SCAC men's soccer head coaches, the league office announced today.

Gonzalez and Head were named to the All-SCAC Second Team, while Shivers was voted to the Third Team.

Gonzalez, a freshman defender from Birmingham, helped to anchor the BSC defense this season, starting in all 18 games. Head, a junior midfielder from Friendswood, Texas, was tied for second on the team with 11 points (4 goals, 3 assists). He also had 24 shots, 12 of those on-goal. Shivers, a junior striker from Oxford, Miss., led the team with 15 points (6 goals, 3 assists) and was second on the team with 38 shots (21 on-goal).

"In our final year of transition from DI to DIII, it is nice that our players can finally get the post-season recognition that they deserve, even if we cannot yet play for a championship," Head Coach Preston Goldfarb said. "I'm proud of these three student-athletes and know that they will continue to help our team improve."

2010 SCAC Men's Soccer Offensive Player-of-the-Year
Zack Garcia, Trinity University, Jr., M, Dallas, Texas

2010 SCAC Men's Soccer Defensive Player-of-the-Year
Nathan Sprenkel, DePauw University, Jr., GK, Zionsville, Ind.

2010 SCAC Men's Soccer Newcomer-of-the-Year
Yuri Ribeiro, Trinity University, Fy., F, Salvador, Brazil

2010 SCAC Men's Soccer Coach-of-the-Year
Paul McGinlay, Trinity University, 11-0-0 SCAC (1st place) / 19-2-1 overall

2010 All-SCAC Men's Soccer First Team
Fernando Leon, Southwestern Univ., Sr., D, Dallas, Texas
Dennis Mask, Trinity University, So., D, Tulsa, Okla.
Stephen Keller, DePauw University, Sr., D, Carmel, Ind.
Yuri Ribeiro, Trinity University, Fy., F, Salvador, Brazil
Alex Keller, Southwestern Univ., Sr., F, Houston, Texas
Matt Fechter, Colorado College, So., F, Westfield, N.J.
Tommy Barros, Trinity University, Sr., F, San Antonio, Texas
Zack Garcia, Trinity University, Jr., M, Dallas, Texas
Connor Silvestri, Hendrix College, So., M, Conway, Ark.
Nima Naderi, Trinity University, So., M, Carrollton, Texas
Nathan Sprenkel, DePauw University, Jr., GK, Zionsville, Ind.

2010 All-SCAC Men's Soccer Second Team
Wil Nelp, Colorado College, Sr., D, Mercer Island, Wash.
Chris Schardon, Trinity University, Sr., D, The Woodlands, Texas
Cory Gonzalez, Birmingham-Southern, Fy., D, Birmingham, Ala.
Andrew Desmarais, DePauw University, Jr., D, Wilmette, Ill.
Austin Hall, Centre College, Jr., F, Indianapolis, Ind.
Duncan Keegan, Hendrix College, Jr., F, Signal Mountain, Tenn.
Chris Melton, Austin College, Jr., F, Sherman, Texas
Sean Head, Birmingham-Southern, Jr., M, Friendswood, Texas
Josh Settle, Centre College, So., M, Bowling Green, Ky.
Sean Parham, Colorado College, Fy., M, Fort Smith, Ark.
Mark Lavery, Oglethorpe University, Jr., M, Woodstock, Ga.
Joseph Benefield, Trinity University, Sr., GK, Dallas, Texas

2010 All-SCAC Men's Soccer Third Team
Ian Evans, Hendrix College, Jr., D, Simsbury, Conn.
Brian Fay, Centre College, Jr., D, New York, N.Y.
Grant Shopoff, Trinity University, Jr., D, Memphis, Tenn.
Evan Perkins, Southwestern Univ., So., F, Keller, Texas
Garner Shivers, Birmingham-Southern, Jr., F, Oxford, Miss.
Cameron Hogsett, Trinity University, Jr., F, McKinney, Texas
George Elliott, DePauw University, Fy., M, Naperville, Ill.
Ryan Garvey, Centre College, So., M, Louisville, Ky.
Kyle Porter, Trinity University, So., M, Albuquerque, N.M.
Josh Adams, Trinity University, Jr., M, Houston, Texas
Nick Pierce, Southwestern Univ., Jr., GK, Houston, Texas

Note: Coaches voted for first team, second team and third team – with each voted team consisting of three defenders, three midfielders, three forwards, one goalkeeper and one at-large selection. A first-team vote was worth three points, a second-team vote two and a third-team vote one point. Coaches could not vote for their own players.