Cox, Watkins Take Big Awards; 20 Earn All-Conference

Cox, Watkins Take Big Awards; 20 Earn All-Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Birmingham-Southern men's and women's track and field teams collected 20 all-conference honors as the Southern Athletic Association released the teams Thursday.  Junior Watkins and Head Coach Kenneth Cox headlined the group.  Watkins earned track athlete of the year honors and Cox was named coach of the year.


12 men and eight women grabbed conference honors.  The men placed nine on first team, the most of any other SAA school. 


The following is courtesy of


A junior from Hampton, Ga., Watkins backed up his breakout campaign in 2016 with an equally impressive 2017 en route to winning another Track Athlete of the Year honor. Watkins defended his titles this season in the 100 (10.47), 200 (21.52), and ran a leg on the winning 4 x 100m relay (41.30). His performances all season and at the SAA Meet were conference leading times and also rank among the NCAA's Top 5.


In his eighth season at the helm, Cox guided the Panthers to their second consecutive SAA Men's Track &Field crown by a dominating margin of over 80 points. He coached up nine individual title winners from the SAA Championships as the Panthers racked up twelve All-Conference performances.  A native of North Carolina, Cox attended UNC (Chapel Hill) where he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication Studies in 1999. He was a member of the Men's Track and Field Team (competing in the 60m and 100m) and also walked on to the Tar Heel football team in 1997.


2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference Award Winners

Men's Track Athlete of the Year: Jamal Watkins of Birmingham-Southern
Men's Field Athlete of the Year: Renn Eason of Rhodes
Men's Newcomer of the Year: Zech Montgomery of Hendrix
Men's Coach of the Year: Kenneth Cox of Birmingham-Southern


2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference First Team
Jalon Hollie (Birmingham-Southern)
Timothy McOmber (Birmingham-Southern)
Damian Mitchell (Birmingham-Southern)
Kameren Morgan (Birmingham-Southern)
Chris Roberts (Birmingham-Southern)
Amir Sims (Birmingham-Southern)
Michael Snow (Birmingham-Southern)
Andrew Triplett (Birmingham-Southern)
Jamal Watkins (Birmingham-Southern)

Henry Gunner (Centre)
Jared Lincoln (Hendrix)
Zech Montgomery (Hendrix)
Tucker Pratt (Hendrix)
Michael Spainhour (Hendrix)
Josh Williams (Hendrix)
Renn Eason (Rhodes)
Ridge Davis (Sewanee)
Will DuBose (Sewanee)
Ash Midyett (Sewanee)


2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference Second Team
Mitchell Brice (Berry)
Rory Fleming (Berry)
George Saboura (Berry)
Javon Jones (Birmingham-Southern)
Stone Fentalaff (Centre)
Tristen Morrow (Centre)
Rhoman James (Centre)
Matthew Ramirez (Hendrix)
Asael Hernandez (Millsaps)
Rodrigo Meade (Oglethorpe)
Omari Miller (Oglethorpe)
Jamal Willis (Oglethorpe)
Malik Willis (Oglethorpe)
Jay Baker (Rhodes)
Spencer Fields (Rhodes)
Toler Freyaldenhoven (Rhodes)
Tej Suber (Rhodes)
Dominic Voehler (Rhodes)


2017 SAA Men's Track & Field All-Conference Honorable Mention
Ethan Caldwell (Berry)
Eugenio Fabrizio (Berry)
Will Knowlton (Berry)
Cameron Luster (Birmingham-Southern)
Justin Peifer (Birmingham-Southern)

William Blackford (Centre)
Nathan Andress (Hendrix)
Sam Byrd (Hendrix)
Shaquille Grant (Hendrix)
Wes Hance (Hendrix)
Ben Griffith (Rhodes)
Kelly McGee (Rhodes)
Will Raines (Rhodes)
Alex Richards (Rhodes)


2017 SAA Women's Track & Field All-Conference Award Winners

Women's Track Athlete of the Year:
 Annie Rodenfels of Centre
Women's Field Athlete of the Year: Genesis Leggett of Berry
Women's Newcomer of the Year: Kayla Trice of Oglethorpe
Women's Coach of the Year: Robert Shankman of Rhodes

2017 SAA Women's Track & Field All-Conference First Team
Erin Davis (Birmingham-Southern)
Jothani Dixon (Birmingham-Southern)
Deja Hulbert (Birmingham-Southern)
Karmin Shute (Birmingham-Southern)

Genesis Leggett (Berry)
Serena Gale-Butto (Centre)
Sarah Hayhurst (Centre)
Aja Leachman (Centre)
Anastasia Lyon (Centre)
Annie Rodenfels (Centre)
Caitlyn Yockey (Centre)
Victoria Amadi (Hendrix)
Bailey Brya (Hendrix)
Payton Passantino (Millsaps)
Kayla Trice (Oglethorpe)
Sarah Kate Capel (Rhodes)
Alice Fugate (Rhodes)
Kendall Reed (Rhodes)
Faith Udobong (Rhodes)

2017 SAA Women's Track & Field All-Conference Second Team
Jessica Allen (Birmingham-Southern)
Rebecca Bryant (Birmingham-Southern)
Sage Jordan (Birmingham-Southern)

Rachel Bibbey (Berry)
Abby Carroll (Berry)
Danielle Patterson (Berry)
Taylor Singleton (Centre)
Kiersten Huitt (Hendrix)
Ashton Sitkowski (Hendrix)
Samantha Stockdale (Hendrix)
Arielle Shaw (Oglethorpe)
Kira Curry (Rhodes)
Laurel Sharp (Rhodes)
Abby Watkins (Rhodes)

2017 SAA Women's Track & Field All-Conference Honorable Mention
Alexa Bilsky (Berry)
Alainna Chretien (Berry)
Meredith Herman (Berry)
Molly O'Dea (Centre)
Emily Winkler (Centre)
Harper DeWine (Birmingham-Southern)
Mackenzie Gearin (Hendrix)
Kayleigh Johnson (Hendrix)
Irrianne Jones (Hendrix)
Nicolette Andrey (Oglethorpe)
Reagan Alley (Rhodes)
Leda St. Cyr (Rhodes)