McKannan named SCAC Defensive Player of the Year

McKannan named SCAC Defensive Player of the Year

SAN ANTONIO, Texas—Senior libero Jennifer McKannan was named SCAC Backrow Player of the Year and Second-Team All-Conference, and freshman outside hitter Alex Bothe earned Third-Team honors, it was announced Friday evening at the SCAC Volleyball Championships, hosted by Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas.

McKannan, a senior defensive specialist from Huntsville, Ala., becomes the first student-athlete from Birmingham-Southern to win one of the three major volleyball individual postseason awards since the Panthers joined the SCAC prior to the 2007 season. The senior leads the team and the conference in digs per set (6.02), and became BSC's all-time digs leader earlier this season – surpassing the 2,000 career digs milestone the weekend of Oct. 30. Named an all-tournament selection at both the Rhodes Fall Classic and Emory National Invitational, McKannan would rank in the top 20 in the nation in digs per set if Birmingham-Southern student-athletes were eligible to be ranked by the NCAA.

McKannan received six votes from the coaches in earning the Backrow Player of the Year award, nudging past Kayla McCrury of Rhodes College who received four votes. Kim Larson of Hendrix College and Kylee Lehrman of DePauw each received one vote.

McKannan was also named Second-Team All-SCAC, and Bothe earned Third-Team honors. Bothe led the team with 2.96 kills per set and was second on the team with 0.37 service aces per set. She was also third on the team with 2.56 digs per set, and had 13 double-doubles (kills-digs).

Shelby Eaves of Austin College edged out Bothe for the Freshman of the Year award. Eaves received five votes in earning FOTY honors, just two more than Bothe. Catherine Janszen of Centre College, Lexie Krall of Rhodes College, Allison Stubbs of Southwestern University and Maryn Swierc of Trinity University each received one vote.

2010 SCAC Player of the Year
Emily Perkins, Colorado College, MB/OH, Sr., Plano, Texas

2010 SCAC Freshman of the Year
Shelby Eaves, Austin College, OH, Fy., Farmerville, Texas

2010 SCAC Backrow Player of the Year
Jennifer McKannan, Birmingham-Southern, DS, Sr., Huntsville, Ala.

2010 SCAC Coach of the Year
Rick Swan, Colorado College, 27-6 overall / 14-1 SCAC (tied for 1st place regular season)

2010 All-SCAC Women's Volleyball First Team
(7) 224 Emily Perkins Colo. College MB/OH Sr. Plano, Texas
(2) 188 Jessica Fleming Austin College MB Jr. Allen, Texas
(1) 187 Christina Nicholls Southwestern S Jr. Austin, Texas
(1) 176 Lindsay Thompson Southwestern MB Jr. Austin, Texas
164 Ali Smith DePauw S Sr. Bloomington, Ind.
162 Caiti Troyer Trinity S Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
143 Amy Schornack Colo. College S Jr. Plano, Texas

2010 All-SCAC Women's Volleyball Second Team
142 Madison McMahon Trinity OH So. Austin, Texas
137 Annie Collier DePauw OPP Jr. Fishers, Ind.
(1) 130 Jennifer McKannan Birmingham DS Sr. Huntsville, Ala.
109 Lauren Brown Southwestern MB Sr. Austin, Texas
96 Kayla McCrury Rhodes L Sr. Cedar Park, Texas
89 Meredith Ballard Colo. College RS Jr. Libertyville, Ill.
88 Stephanie Woeste Centre MH/OPP Jr. Louisville, Ky.

2010 All-SCAC Women's Volleyball Third Team
84 Erika Pirotte Colo. College MB/OH Sr. Nipomo, Calif.
83 Maggie Tumminello Millsaps OH Jr. Baton Rouge, La.
65 Jordan Anderton Austin College S Sr. Garland, Texas
65 Alex Bothe Birmingham OH Fy. Seguin, Texas
58 Kasey Laird Millsaps MB So. New Orleans, La.
53 Becca Clancy Hendrix OH Sr. Thousand Oaks, Calif.
39 Meagan Mansfield Rhodes OH So. Winter Park, Fla.

First-place votes are in parentheses. Voting totals based on coaches' votes with 21 points awarded for first-place votes, 20 points for second-place votes, 19 points for third-place votes, etc., down to one point for a 21st-place vote. Freshman-of-the-Year and Backrow Player-of-the-Year voting were done on a vote-by-vote basis, as was Coach-of-the-Year. In all cases, coaches could not vote for themselves or their own players.